Sometimes PEOPLE make me MAD!

نوفمبر 3, 2009 at 9:01 م أضف تعليق

I come from a diverse background. My mother is American and my father is Saudi. I feel like I have the best of both worlds. I speak two language, Arabic and English, as well as writing and reading in both languages. I grew up learning that people come from different backgrounds that we are not all Arabs but the world is diverse with more than 1,000 different cultures and backgrounds.

The reason for this blog  is that I am furious with people. Sometimes people make me mad when they think they are better than others. I grew up with the knowledge that we are equal. Black, white, red, blue or green we are all the same. Other than color being from Saudi Arabia doesn’t make me any better than being an American or Indian or German. We are all the same we are all equal.

People talk about how coming to America is the best thing that ever happened to them. It is the land of opportunity; the land of freedom. The land of diverse people and religions. I agree with most of what is said but differ in some views.  Americans are known for being charitable and thoughtful of others but sometimes you run into a few knuckle heads that make you mad.

I was walking out of the university library with my sister and cousin. We are all Saudi the only thing is you wouldn’t know that me and my sister were because we don’t look Arab. We got our looks from our mother. Anyways, my cousin wears the scarf around her head. As we were walking to the car, a truck with boys pass by and say the most hateful thing that I have ever heard someone ever say to me, my sister and cousin. One of the boys said,” Get the F*** out of my country.” I was shocked and hurt by that. You can’t tell that I am Saudi but still that really hurt. How people can be so ignorant to say stuff like that. I know there is hatred and igonrance around the world but still you just don’ t say that someone. My momma always told me if I don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

It just shows you even being in a diverse university where there is more than 100 countries represented there is still ignorance and hatred towards ALIENS! as some people my call us.

I am proud to be Saudi and an American but sometimes when people act like that you become ashamed of who you are or where you come from.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Message Does Not Fit All This Stinks!

اترك رد

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



